Project 365 – Day 14: Journalism: two years of awards and experiences

I wasn’t on my computer last night, but I took this picture. So here is my post for yesterday, January 14, 2013. A new post for today will be added later tonight.

January 14 2013

Above is a picture of all of the awards I’ve earned over the last four semesters. Most of them are from the end of semester celebrations at Cosumnes River College’s newspaper, The Connection. That doesn’t mean they haven’t meant as much as the First Place statewide opinion writing award and Editor-in-Chief Achievement award from the Journalism Association of Community Colleges (JACC).

The last two years have found me finding my place in college as a journalism major. I started off in the Spring of 2011 when a friend asked me to join the newspaper, so I did not knowing I would enjoy it as much as I did.

My first semester I became Opinion Editor for the newspaper and competed in an on-the-spot opinion writing competition and won First Place among the state, with around 50 schools in attendance at the conference.

My second semester was the semester that I was Editor-in-Chief of the paper, and the next two semesters I took the roles of Copy Editor, News Editor and Online Editor.

This coming semester will be my first semester where I’ll be a regular staff member of the paper. It will be different without as much responsibility. I’ll hopefully be taking a lot more pictures and I’ll definitely be writing, but I won’t have to worry about an entire group of people anymore.

When I started in journalism, I was a pretty quiet guy and I tried to stay in the background, but that didn’t last more than a month. Two years later, I’m not so quiet and I’m used to leading a classroom. It’ll be interesting to see how my last semester will go and where I’ll go from there.

Leave a comment